Return to blog

An Introduction to Chakras and Energy Lines

An Introduction to Chakras and Energy Lines By Erin Kyna, Erin Kyna Life Coaching   Chakras have been spoken about by the ancients and mystics for thousands of years. Here in...

An Introduction to Chakras and Energy Lines

An Introduction to Chakras and Energy Lines
By Erin Kyna, Erin Kyna Life Coaching


Chakras have been spoken about by the ancients and mystics for thousands of years.

Here in the modern west, their existence has been questioned. However, science is now discovering links between our medical scientific knowledge and the ancient systems of healing. For example, there are neural plexuses at the location of each chakra and neurological information and energy are clustered in these areas, each like a ‘mini brain’.


The word chakra in Sanskrit means wheel. It is a wheel of energy that allows energy to flow in and out of the body. We have seven main chakras running along the length of our spine. The root and the crown chakras point downwards and upwards respectively, with all the other chakras point away from the body at the front and the back of the spine.


When people experience pain or trauma, this can be held within our chakras, like energetic scar tissue. Our healing must take place not just on a physical level, but on an emotional and spiritual level, too. If we just focus on the symptoms in the physical body but never address any possible emotional or spiritual contributing factors, then have we really healed? When we address our healing holistically, looking at all levels of our being, true healing can take place.


Let’s go through each chakra and have a look at what each one represents.


ROOT CHAKRA (Muladhara)

The root chakra is located at the perineum, and points down to the earth. It is represented by the colour red. Our root chakra keeps us rooted to the earth, allowing us to feel supported. Here in our energetic field we can hold traumas and energetic distortions related to fear, security, money and survival. If someone is scared about not having enough money for survival, we call them a tight arse. Coincidence? The affirmation for muladhara is “I BELONG”.


SACRAL CHAKRA (Svadhisthana)

The sacral chakra is located just below the navel. This is represented by the colour orange. Our sacral chakra is all about relationships, and holds the energy related to creativity and sexuality. Our sexual organs are located around here, and it’s with these organs that we create new life. It is easy to see the link between the mystical and the scientific. The affirmation for svadhisthana is “I FEEL”.



Our solar plexus chakra is the seat of our personal power. It’s located above our navel and holds our sense of who we are, and our ability to stand in our power. It is represented by bright yellow. Have you noticed in a situation where you feel you have had your power taken away, that you can feel punched in the stomach? The affirmation for manipura is “I CAN”.



Our beautiful heart chakra is our centre of unconditional love and acceptance. We have all met someone who could be described as having a ‘closed’ heart. How can we close the physical heart? It’s the energy centre of the heart, the chakra, which is closed. The heart chakra is green and located in the centre of our sternum. The affirmation for anahata is “I LOVE”.



Our throat chakra is located at the centre of our throat, and is represented by the colour blue. Our throat chakra is all about creative expression and speaking our truth. Have you experienced feeling a lump in your throat if you’re afraid to speak? Energetically you are experiencing a blocked throat chakra. The affirmation for vishuddha is “I SPEAK”.



Our third eye chakra is located between the eyebrows and represents inner knowing and intuition. It is indigo in colour, and an open third eye chakra allows us to be in touch with our intuition and ability to ‘see’ clearly. Have you ever just known something about someone – more than meets the eye? That’s the intuitive third eye chakra that can see them. The affirmation for ajna is “I SEE”.


CROWN CHAKRA (Sahasrara)
Our crown chakra is located at the crown of our head and points directly up, and is represented by the colour violet, or white, the inclusion of every colour of the spectrum. The crown chakra is responsible for our connection to something greater than ourselves, and allows us to receive energy and information from our higher self or from spiritual sources. The affirmation for sahasrara is “I AM”.


Often people do not have awareness of these subtle energy of the chakra system, although it can be developed over time. Healing in these energetic centres can be done using energy healing such as Reiki or kinesiology, as well as through meditation and visualisations.




Erin is an accredited Life Coach. Erin says, "it is my passion to help people transform their lives. Find that sense of who you really are and to live that proudly. I want you to radiate who you are out of every cell of your being. I want you to have passion and purpose about all that you do....". Erin is also a Reiki Master, offering Reiki healings, and Reiki attunements, as well as holding two Manifestation Academy Workshops in August, on the 8th and 23rd, teaching people how to consciously create the life of their dreams. All details can be found at at

Nourish Melbourne is also proud to have Erin Kyna Life Coaching a part of the Nourish Melbourne Community and Membership Program. Nourish Melbourne Members receive $100 off Erin's three-month coaching package, plus a free 30 minute consultation.